XO – Starboy Album Review

It is an absolutely amazing year for music, that is for sure. From Adele to Beyoncè to Drake… I have been one happy camper. (And there is many more to come – Childish Gambino, J. Cole, Kid Cudi and even more Drake) Now, The Weeknd has released his fourth album, Starboy, at the end of November. All I will say is – it is amazing. For anyone who says differently, you are entitled to your wrong opinion.

So, I thought I’d give a little review and a 0-10 rating on each of the songs on the album. Let me know what you guys think of the album, and if you think my reviews on each of the songs are spot-on or not! (Going in number order as it is on the album)

Starboy (feat. Daft Punk) – 9/10 – Starboy is the anthem (and album title) for the album, as well as the first single released in anticipation of the full album release. It is a seriously great song, of course. If you are like me, and have listened to The Weeknd since he was first kickin’ around, you would know that this song (along with the rest of the album) is definitely different from his original stuff. However, he is one of the only artists I know and listen to, that can completely change their sound while still remaining true to their genre and music style. The Weeknd truly only gets better with each album release, and Starboy is a perfect example of this.

Party Monster – 8/10 – This song is a lot of fun. In my opinion, I like The Weeknd best when he is at his dark and twistiest, so when the more mainstream songs come out, I am not the biggest fan of them. Party Monster is an exception. The song is pretty repetitive lyrically, and I consider it to be a top 40 style song, but I love it nonetheless.

False Alarm – 9/10 – False Alarm was the second single to be released from the album, and it was my favourite before I had heard the rest. Like Starboy, it definitely has a different sound to it, and I love that. It’s a very, very unique sounding song and because of this I think a lot of people are iffy about it. Just keep listening until you like it people!! It’s worth it.

Reminder – 7.5/10 – This song is perfectly fine. There is nothing that I dislike about it, but there is nothing that I love about it either. However, it does sort of have an old Weeknd vibe to it, which I definitely dig.

Rockin’ –8/10 – This is definitely a dance number. Now normally I would oppose this. However, this song just works. Lyrically it’s very good and non-repetitive, which I think is important in a song like this. I just wanna dance to it while I’m out at the bar/club.

Secrets – 6.5/10 – Secrets is probably the most mainstream song, in my opinion, on the album. Although I could probably never dislike a song by The Weeknd, this song is just nothing to talk about. It isn’t rated lower because of some loyalty issues I have, and also, the song itself actually has nothing wrong with it. It just isn’t my style, and it definitely isn’t what I want to be hearing from The Weeknd on the regular.

True Colors – 9.5/10 – This song is a serious(ly good) love ballad. I absolutely love it, and again, it is quite different than what The Weeknd usually sounds like. I can’t give it a full rating only because it is a little repetitive for my tastes, and I just hate that.

Stargirl Interlude (feat. Lana Del Rey) – 10/10 – Obviously interludes are normally nothing to rave about, and are usually skipped over. However, with my girl Lana along for the ride, this Stargirl Interlude is more than necessary and I love it. I definitely don’t skip over this one.

Sidewalks (feat. Kendrick Lamar) – 8.5/10 – I don’t know what it is about this song that I don’t absolutely love. It’s one of my best friends favourite, and a lot of other people seriously dig it as well. I mean, it has Kendrick Lamar featuring so I’m not sure what else I could want? But alas, there is something about it that I just don’t love. It is a good song and I will continue to listen religiously though.

Six Feet Under – 10/10 – Arguably my favourite song on the album. This is perfect for me because it reminds me a lot of his old stuff, but it is also visibly different and innovative. There is nothing bad I can say or think about this song so I simply cannot give it less than a 10/10 rating.

Love To Lay – 6/10 – Love To Lay is just alright, in my opinion. I usually like being reminded of his old stuff; however, in this case, it’s a little all to familiar. I just feel like I have heard too many songs resembling this one by The Weeknd, and those ones were far better.

A Lonely Light – 7/10 – I do like this song. It is catchy for sure, but again, just like Reminder, there isn’t anything I can confidently say that I love about it. Of course, there isn’t anything I hate about it either, so I’m just left somewhere in between.

Attention – 7/10 – Along with Reminder and A Lonely Night, this is another example of my indifference. I think these songs are all good, I simply just cannot rave about them. However, I don’t want you to get the wrong impression, I recommend them all 100% and I will still listen to them. I just might skip over them if i’m not quite in the mood…

Ordinary Life – 10/10 – Along with Six Feet Under, Ordinary Life is my other favourite song on the album. I can’t quite decide which one I like more, so I’ll call it a tie. I love this one because it is such a classic sounding Weeknd song. Like I said, I like him best at his dark and twistiest.

Nothing Without You – 8.5/10 – This song gives me some warm fuzzies. I like it because I’d like to think that The Weeknd may be talking about his fans in this song, along with all of the people who have been with him on his journey to success. Even if he intended it to have no meaning whatsoever, It’s a pretty song regardless and it is definitely worth listening to.

All I know (feat. Future) – 9.5/10 – Ugh. I’m telling you… he just slays me. This song is another great example of The Weeknd remaining true to himself and his music while also learning to change it up a bit. I love Future and I love them together musically, all I know is that All I Know is a banger. (Ha, get it?)

Die For You – 9/10 – Die For You, along with True Colors, is the other love ballad on Starboy. This song is tragically beautiful, and it depressing while remaining uplifting? Only The Weeknd could pull this off.

I Feel It Coming (feat. Daft punk) – 5/10 – This one is probably my least favourite on the album, only because I do think it is by far the most mainstream. Again, there technically isn’t anything wrong with the song, it just isn’t my cup of tea. He sounds beautiful of course and the song sounds nice enough, but alas, Abel is capable of much more for sure!

Well, I’m done! Overall, I love The Weeknd and I always will. I think Starboy was a great success, and I could not be more proud of him. I truly believe that no one else deserves the amount of success he is earning more than he does. I give the album a 9/10 overall.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

